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BUSINESS GUIDES

General guide

Business Planning

  • Business Plan Basics
  • Writing the Plan
  • Using the Plan
  • Money, finance and cashflow

  • Financing Basics
  • Estimating Costs
  • Finding Capital
  • Personal v's Business
  • Credit Scoring
  • Applying for a Loan
  • The 5 C's of Credit
  • Cash Management
  • Learn to Project Cash Flow to Avoid Financial Trouble
  • Preparing Your Cashflow Statement
  • Preparing a Breakeven Analysis
  • Growing your business

  • Financial Statements
  • Understanding Financial Statements
  • Forecasting for Growth
  • Remaining Competitive
  • Controlling Growth
  • Business Health Check
  • Dealing with fraud

  • Fraud Prevention
  • Controlling Risk
  • Suspecting Fraud
  • Managing your business

    Business Plan Basics

    A business plan precisely defines your business, identifies your goals, and serves as your firm's resume. The basic components include a current and pro forma balance sheet, an income statement, and a cash flow analysis. It helps you allocate resources properly, handle unforeseen complications, and make good business decisions. Because it provides specific and organized information about your company and how you will repay borrowed money, a good business plan is a crucial part of any loan application. Additionally, it informs sales personnel, suppliers, and others about your operations and goals.

    Plan Your Work
    The importance of a comprehensive, thoughtful business plan cannot be overemphasized. Much hinges on it: outside funding, credit from suppliers, management of your operation and finances, promotion and marketing of your business, and achievement of your goals and objectives.

    "The business plan is a necessity. If the person who wants to start a small business can't put a business plan together, he or she is in trouble," says Robert Krummer, Jr., chairman of First Business Bank in Los Angeles.

    Despite the critical importance of a business plan, many entrepreneurs drag their feet when it comes to preparing a written document. They argue that their marketplace changes too fast for a business plan to be useful or that they just don't have enough time. But just as a builder won't begin construction without a blueprint, eager business owners shouldn't rush into new ventures without a business plan.

    Before you begin writing your business plan, consider four core questions:

    What service or product does your business provide and what needs does it fill?
    Who are the potential customers for your product or service and why will they purchase it from you?
    How will you reach your potential customers?
    Where will you get the financial resources to start your business?


    Writing the Plan

    What goes in a business plan? The body can be divided into four distinct sections:

    1. Description of the business
    2. Marketing
    3. Finances
    4. Management

    Addenda should include an executive summary, supporting documents, and financial projections. Although there is no single formula for developing a business plan, some elements are common to all business plans. They are summarized in the following outline:

    Elements of a Business Plan

    1. Cover sheet
    2. Statement of purpose
    3. Table of contents
    4. Table of contents
      • The Business
        • Description of business
        • Marketing
        • Competition
        • Operating procedures
        • Personnel
        • Business insurance
      • Financial Data
        • Loan Applications
        • Capital equipment and supply list
        • Balance sheet
        • Breakeven analysis
        • Proforma Income projections (profit and loss statement)
        • Three-year summary
          Detail by month, first year
          Detail by quarters, second and third years
          Assumptions upon which projections were based
        • Pro-forma cash flow
      • Supporting Documents
        • Tax returns of principals for last three years Personal financial statement (all banks have these forms)
        • For franchised businesses, a copy of franchise contract and all supporting documents provided by the franchisor
        • Copy of proposed lease or purchase agreement for building space
        • Copy of licenses and other legal documents
        • Copy of resumes of all principals
        • Copies of letters of intent from suppliers, etc.

    Sample Plans

    One of the best ways to learn about writing a business plan is to study the plans of established businesses in your industry. There are plenty of sample plans on the following website for you to view.

    http://www.bplans.com


    Using the Plan

    A business plan is a tool with three basic purposes: communication, management, and planning.
    As a communication tool, it is used to attract investment capital, secure loans, convince potential employees to work for you, and assist in attracting strategic business partners. The development of a comprehensive business plan shows whether or not a business has the potential to make a profit. It requires a realistic look at almost every phase of business and allows you to show that you have worked out all the problems and decided on potential alternatives before actually launching your business.

    As a management tool, the business plan helps you track, monitor and evaluate your progress. The business plan is a living document that you will modify as you gain knowledge and experience. By using your business plan to establish timelines and milestones, you can gauge your progress and compare your projections to actual accomplishments.

    As a planning tool, the business plan guides you through the various phases of your business. A thoughtful plan will help identify roadblocks and obstacles so that you can avoid them and establish alternatives. Many business owners share their business plans with their employees to foster a broader understanding of where the business is going.


    Financing Basics

    While poor management is cited most frequently as the reason businesses fail, inadequate or ill-timed financing is a close second. Whether you're starting a business or expanding one, sufficient ready capital is essential. But it is not enough to simply have sufficient financing; knowledge and planning are required to manage it well. These qualities ensure that entrepreneurs avoid common mistakes like securing the wrong type of financing, miscalculating the amount required, or underestimating the cost of borrowing money.

    Before inquiring about financing, ask yourself the following:

    • Do you need more capital or can you manage existing cash flow more effectively?
    • How do you define your need? Do you need money to expand or as a cushion against risk?
    • How urgent is your need? You can obtain the best terms when you anticipate your needs rather than looking for money under pressure.
    • How great are your risks? All businessess carry risks, and the degree of risk will affect cost and available financing alternatives.
    • In what state of development is the business? Needs are most critical during transitional stages.
    • For what purposes will the capital be used? Any lender will require that capital be requested for very specific needs.
    • What is the state of your industry? Depressed, stable, or growth conditions require different approaches to money needs and sources. Businesses that prosper while others are in decline will often receive better funding terms.
    • Is your business seasonal or cyclical? Seasonal needs for financing generally are short term. Loans advanced for cyclical industries such as construction are designed to support a business through depressed periods.
    • How strong is your management team? Management is the most important element assessed by money sources.
    • Perhaps most importantly, how does your need for financing mesh with your business plan? If you don't have a business plan, make writing one your first priority. All capital sources will want to see your forecasts for the start-up and growth of your business.

    Not All Money Is the Same
    There are two types of financing: equity and debt financing. When looking for money, you must consider your company's debt-to-equity ratio - the relation between money you've borrowed and money you've invested in your business. The more money owners have invested in their business, the easier it is to attract financing.

    If your firm has a high ratio of equity to debt, you should probably seek debt financing. However, if your company has a high proportion of debt to equity, experts advise that you should increase your ownership capital (equity investment) for additional funds. That way you won't be over-leveraged to the point of jeopardizing your company's survival.

    Equity Financing
    Most small or growth-stage businesses use limited equity financing. As with debt financing, additional equity often comes from non-professional investors such as friends, relatives, employees, customers, or industry colleagues. However, the most common source of professional equity funding comes from venture capitalists. These are institutional risk takers and may be groups of wealthy individuals, government-assisted sources, or major financial institutions. Most specialise in one or a few closely related industries. The high-tech industry of California's Silicon Valley is a well-known example of capitalist investing.

    Venture capitalists are often seen as deep-pocketed financial gurus looking for start-ups in which to invest their money, but they most often prefer three-to-five-year old companies with the potential to become major regional or national concerns and return higher-than-average profits to their shareholders. Venture capitalists may scrutinize thousands of potential investments annually, but only invest in a handful. The possibility of a public stock offering is critical to venture capitalists. Quality management, a competitive or innovative advantage, and industry growth are also major concerns.

    Different venture capitalists have different approaches to management of the business in which they invest. They generally prefer to influence a business passively, but will react when a business does not perform as expected and may insist on changes in management or strategy. Relinquishing some of the decision-making and some of the potential for profits are the main disadvantages of equity financing.

    Debt Financing
    There are many sources for debt financing: banks, savings and loans, commercial finance companies are the most common. Governments has developed many programs in recent years to encourage the growth of small businesses in recognition of their positive effects on the economy. Family members, friends, and former associates are all potential sources, especially when capital requirements are smaller.

    Traditionally, banks have been the major source of small business funding. Their principal role has been as a short-term lender offering demand loans, seasonal lines of credit, and single-purpose loans for machinery and equipment. Banks generally have been reluctant to offer long-term loans to small firms.

    In addition to equity considerations, lenders commonly require the borrower's personal guarantees in case of default. This ensures that the borrower has a sufficient personal interest at stake to give paramount attention to the business. For most borrowers this is a burden, but also a necessity.


    Estimating Costs

    In order to determine how much seed money you will need, you must estimate the costs of your your business for at least the first several months. Every business is different, and has its own specific cash needs at different stages of development, so there is no universal method for estimating your startup costs. Some businesses can be started on a shoestring budget, while others may require considerable investment in stock or equipment. It is vitally important to know that you will have enough money to launch your business venture.

    To determine your startup costs, you must identify all the expenses that your business will incur during its startup phase. Some of these expenses will be one-time costs such as the fee for incorporating your business or price of a sign for your building. Some will be ongoing, such as the cost of utilities, stock, insurance, etc.

    While identifying these costs, decide whether they are essential or optional. A realistic startup budget should only include those things that are necessary to start that business. These essential expenses can then be divided into two separate categories: fixed and variable. Fixed expenses include rent, utilities, administrative costs, and insurance costs. Variable expenses include stock, shipping and packaging costs, sales commissions, and other costs associated with the direct sale of a product or service.

    The most effective way to calculate your startup costs is to use a worksheet that lists all the various categories of costs (both one-time and ongoing) that you will need to estimate prior to starting your business.


    Finding Capital

    Raising capital is the most basic of all business activities, but it may not be easy; in fact, it is often a complex and frustrating process. However, if you have studied and planned effectively, raising money for your business will go as smoothly as possible.

    Finding the Money You Need
    There are several sources to consider when looking for financing. It is important to explore all of your options before making a decision.

    Personal savings: The primary source of capital for most new businesses comes from savings and other personal resources. While credit cards are often used to finance business needs, there are usually better options available, even for very small loans.

    Friends and relatives: Many entrepreneurs look to private sources such as friends and family when starting out in a business venture. Often, money is loaned interest-free or at a low interest rate, which can be beneficial when getting started.

    Banks: The most common sources of funding, banks will provide a loan if you can show that your business proposal is sound.

    Angel Investors and Venture capital firms: These individuals and firms help expanding companies grow in exchange for equity or partial ownership.

    Additional Sources of Capital

    • Credit Cards
    • Customer Financing
    • Employee Stock Ownership
    • Factoring debtorss
    • Home Equity Loans
    • Mergers and Acquisitions
    • Purchase Order Financing
    • Strategic Partnering

    Borrowing Money
    It is often said that small businesses face difficulty borrowing money, but this is not necessarily true. Banks make money by lending money. However, the inexperience of many small business owners in financial matters often prompts banks to deny loan requests. Requesting a loan when you are not properly prepared suggests to your lender that you are a high risk.

    To successfullly obtain a loan, you must be prepared and organised. You must know exactly how much money you need, why you need it, and how you will pay it back. You must be able to convince your lender that you are a good credit risk.

    Types of Business Loans
    Terms of loans vary from lender to lender, but there are two basic types: short-term and long-term.
    Generally, a short-term loan has a maturity of up to one year. These include working capital loans, debtors loans and lines of credit.

    Long-term loans have maturities greater than one year but usually less than seven years. Real estate and equipment loans may have maturities of up to 25 years. Long-term loans are used for major business expenses such as purchasing premises and facilities, construction, durable equipment, furniture and fixtures, vehicles, etc.

    How to Write a Loan Proposal
    Approval of your loan request depends on how well you present yourself, your business, and your financial needs to a lender. Remember, lenders want to make loans, but they must make loans they know will be repaid. The best way to improve your chances of obtaining a loan is to prepare a written proposal.

    A well-written loan proposal contains:

    General Information
    Business name, names of principals, National Insurance number for each principal, and the business address
    Purpose of the loan - exactly what the loan will be used for and why it is needed
    Amount required - the exact amount you need to achieve your purpose

    Business Description
    History and nature of the business - details of what kind of business it is, its age, number of employees and current business assets
    Ownership structure - details on your company's legal structure

    Management Profile
    Develop a short statement on each principal in your business, provide background, education experience, skills and accomplishments.

    Market Information
    Clearly define your company's products as well as your markets.
    Identify your competition and explain how your business competes in the marketplace.
    Profile your customers and explain how your business can satisfy their needs.

    Financial Information
    Financial statements - balance sheets and income statements for the past three years. If you are starting out, provide a projected balance sheet and income statement.
    Personal financial statements on yourself and other principal owners of the business
    Collateral you are willing to pledge as security for the loan

    How Your Loan Request Will Be Reviewed
    When reviewing a loan request, the lender is primarily concerned about repayment. To help determine its likelihood, many lenders will order a copy of your credit history from a credit-reference agency.

    Using the credit report and the information you have provided, the lending officer will consider the following issues:

    • Have you invested savings or personal equity in your business totaling at least 25% to 50% of the loan you are requesting? Remember, no lender or investor will finance 100 percent of your business.
    • Do you have a sound record of credit-worthiness as indicated by your credit report, work history and letters of recommendation? This is very important.
    • Do you have sufficient experience and training to operate a successful business?
    • Have you prepared a loan proposal and business plan that demonstrate your understanding of and commitment to the success of the business?
    • Does the business have sufficient cash flow to make the monthly payments?

    Personal vs. Business

    Starting up a business can be a tremendous strain on your personal finances. It can take anywhere between six months and two years before your new venture is profitable and can provide financial support for you and your family. Before going into business it is always wise to get your finances in order.

    Write a monthly household budget that accounts for your income and your household expenses. Be as conservative as possible, because it is vital to your success that you have the resources to maintain your household expenses while your business is growing. Any strain on your personal budget will put the financial success of your business at risk.

    It is also a good idea to check your personal credit situation. Too often, entrepreneurs think that their business credit and personal credit are separate. A business' credit is built upon the owner's personal credit. Because you have not established a business credit history, lenders and suppliers will use your personal credit history to determine your terms of credit.

    Your credit report determines how you will be perceived by potential lenders and suppliers. You should know what appears on your credit report because you may find errors that you will want to have corrected. To get a copy of your credit report, refer to one of the major credit bureaus:

    • http://www.equifax.co.uk
    • http://www.experian.com

    For Additional Information:


    Credit Scoring

    Ever wonder how a creditor decides whether to grant you credit? For years, creditors have been using credit scoring systems to determine if you'd be a good risk for credit cards and auto loans. More recently, credit scoring has been used to help creditors evaluate your ability to repay home mortgage loans. Here's how credit scoring works in helping decide who gets credit -- and why.

    What is credit scoring?
    Credit scoring is a system creditors use to help determine whether to give you credit.

    Information about you and your credit experiences, such as your bill-paying history, the number and type of accounts you have, late payments, collection actions, outstanding debt, and the age of your accounts, is collected from your credit application and your credit report. Using a statistical program, creditors compare this information to the credit performance of consumers with similar profiles. A credit scoring system awards points for each factor that helps predict who is most likely to repay a debt. A total number of points -- a credit score -- helps predict how creditworthy you are, that is, how likely it is that you will repay a loan and make the payments when due.

    Because your credit report is an important part of many credit scoring systems, it is very important to make sure it's accurate before you submit a loan application. To get copies of your report, contact the major credit reporting agencies:

    • Equifax
    • Experian

    These agencies may charge you for your credit report.

    Why is credit scoring used?
    Credit scoring is based on real data and statistics, so it usually is more reliable than subjective or judgmental methods. It treats all applicants objectively. Judgmental methods typically rely on criteria that are not systematically tested and can vary when applied by different individuals.

    How is a credit scoring model developed?
    To develop a model, a creditor selects a random sample of its customers, or a sample of similar customers if their sample is not large enough, and analyzes it statistically to identify characteristics that relate to creditworthiness. Then, each of these factors is assigned a weight based on how strong a predictor it is of who would be a good credit risk. Each creditor may use its own credit scoring model, different scoring models for different types of credit, or a generic model developed by a credit scoring company.

    Under the Equal Opportunities Act, a credit scoring system may not use certain characteristics like -- race, sex, marital status, national origin, or religion -- as factors. However, creditors are allowed to use age in properly designed scoring systems. But any scoring system that includes age must give equal treatment to elderly applicants.

    What can I do to improve my score?
    Credit scoring models are complex and often vary among creditors and for different types of credit. If one factor changes, your score may change -- but improvement generally depends on how that factor relates to other factors considered by the model. Only the creditor can explain what might improve your score under the particular model used to evaluate your credit application.

    Nevertheless, scoring models generally evaluate the following types of information in your credit report:

    • Have you paid your bills on time? Payment history typically is a significant factor. It is likely that your score will be affected negatively if you have paid bills late, had an account referred to collections, or declared bankruptcy, if that history is reflected on your credit report.
    • What is your outstanding debt? Many scoring models evaluate the amount of debt you have compared to your credit limits. If the amount you owe is close to your credit limit, that is likely to have a negative effect on your score.
    • How long is your credit history? Generally, models consider the length of your credit track record. An insufficient credit history may have an effect on your score, but that can be offset by other factors, such as timely payments and low balances.
    • Have you applied for new credit recently? Many scoring models consider whether you have applied for credit recently by looking at "enquiries" on your credit report when you apply for credit. If you have applied for too many new accounts recently, that may negatively affect your score. However, not all enquiries are counted. Enquiries by creditors who are monitoring your account or looking at credit reports to make "prescreened" credit offers are not counted.
    • How many and what types of credit accounts do you have? Although it is generally good to have established credit accounts, too many credit card accounts may have a negative effect on your score. In addition, many models consider the type of credit accounts you have. For example, under some scoring models, loans from finance companies may negatively affect your credit score.

    Scoring models may be based on more than just information in your credit report. For example, the model may consider information from your credit application as well: your job or occupation, length of employment, or whether you own a home.

    To improve your credit score under most models, concentrate on paying your bills on time, paying down outstanding balances, and not taking on new debt. It's likely to take some time to improve your score significantly.

    How reliable is the credit scoring system?
    Credit scoring systems enable creditors to evaluate millions of applicants consistently and impartially on many different characteristics. But to be statistically valid, credit scoring systems must be based on a big enough sample. Remember that these systems generally vary from creditor to creditor.

    Although you may think such a system is arbitrary or impersonal, it can help make decisions faster, more accurately, and more impartially than individuals when it is properly designed. And many creditors design their systems so that in marginal cases, applicants whose scores are not high enough to pass easily or are low enough to fail absolutely are referred to a credit manager who decides whether the company or lender will extend credit. This may allow for discussion and negotiation between the credit manager and the consumer.


    Applying for a Loan

    When applying for a loan, you must prepare a written loan proposal. Make your best presentation in the initial loan proposal and application; you may not get a second opportunity.

    Always begin your proposal with a cover letter or executive summary. Clearly and briefly explain who you are, your business background, the nature of your business, the amount and purpose of your loan request, your requested terms of repayment, how the funds will benefit your business, and how you will repay the loan. Keep this cover page simple and direct.

    Many different loan proposal formats are possible. You may want to contact your commercial lender to determine which format is best for you. When writing your proposal, don't assume the reader is familiar with your industry or your individual business. Always include industry-specific details so your reader can understand how your particular business is run and what industry trends affect it.

    Description of Business:
    Provide a written description of your business, including the following information:

    • Type of organisation
    • Date of information
    • Location
    • Product or service
    • Brief history
    • Proposed Future Operation
    • Competition
    • Customers
    • Suppliers

    Management Experience: Resumes of each owner and key management members.

    Personal Financial Statements:
    Consider including financial statements for all principal owners (20% or more) and guarantors. Financial statements should not be older than 90 days. Make certain that you attach a copy of last year's income tax return to the financial statement.

    Loan Repayment:
    Provide a brief written statement indicating how the loan will be repaid, including repayment sources and time requirements. Cash-flow schedules, budgets, and other appropriate information should support this statement.

    Existing Business:
    Provide financial statements for at least the last three years, plus a current dated statement (no older than 90 days) including balance sheets, profit & loss statements, and a reconciliation of net worth. Lists of debtors and creditors should be included, as well as a schedule of term debt. Other balance sheet items of significant value contained in the most recent statement should be explained.

    Proposed Business:
    Provide a pro-forma balance sheet reflecting sources and uses of both equity and borrowed funds.

    Projections:
    Provide a projection of future operations for at least one year or until positive cash flow can be shown. Include earnings, expenses, and reasoning for these estimates. The projections should be in profit & loss format. Explain assumptions used if different from trend or industry standards and support your projected figures with clear, documentable explanations.

    Other Items As They Apply:

    • Lease (copies of proposal)
    • Franchise Agreement
    • Purchase Agreement
    • Articles of Association
    • Plans, Specifications
    • Copies of Licenses
    • Letters of Reference
    • Letters of Intent
    • Contracts
    • Partnership Agreement

    Collateral:
    List real property and other assets to be held as collateral. Few financial institutions will provide non-collateral based loans. All loans should have at least two identifiable sources of repayment. The first source is ordinarily cash flow generated from profitable operations of the business. The second source is usually collateral pledged to secure the loan.


    The 5 C's of Credit

    Your bank is in business to make money. Consequently, when a bank lends money it wants to ensure that it will be paid back. The bank must consider the 5 "C's" of Credit each time it makes a loan.

    Capacity to repay is the most critical of the five factors. The prospective lender will want to know exactly how you intend to repay the loan. The lender will consider the cash flow from the business, the timing of the repayment, and the probability of successful repayment of the loan. Payment history on existing credit relationships - personal and commercial - is considered an indicator of future payment performance. Prospective lenders also will want to know about your contingent sources of repayment.

    Capital is the money you personally have invested in the business and is an indication of how much you will lose should the business fail. Prospective lenders and investors will expect you to contribute your own assets and to undertake personal financial risk to establish the business before asking them to commit any funding. If you have a significant personal investment in the business you are more likely to do everything in your power to make the business successful.

    Collateral or guarantees are additional forms of security you can provide the lender. If the business cannot repay its loan, the bank wants to know there is a second source of repayment. Assets such as equipment, buildings, debtors, and in some cases, stock, are considered possible sources of repayment if they are sold by the bank for cash. Both business and personal assets can be sources of collateral for a loan. A guarantee, on the other hand, is just that - someone else signs a guarantee document promising to repay the loan if you can't. Some lenders may require such a guarantee in addition to collateral as security for a loan.

    Conditions focus on the intended purpose of the loan. Will the money be used for working capital, additional equipment, or stock? The lender will also consider the local economic climate and conditions both within your industry and in other industries that could affect your business.

    Character is the personal impression you make on the potential lender or investor. The lender decide subjectively whether or not you are sufficiently trustworthy to repay the loan or generate a return on funds invested in your company. Your qualifications and experience in business and in your industry will be reviewed. The quality of your references and the background and experience of your employees will also be considered.


    Cash Management

    Business analysts report that poor management is the main reason for business failure. Poor cash management is probably the most frequent stumbling block for entrepreneurs. Understanding the basic concepts of cash flow will help you plan for the unforseen eventualities that nearly every business faces.

    Cash vs. Cash Flow Cash is ready money in the bank or in the business. It is not stock, it is not debtors (what you are owed), and it is not property. These can potentially be converted to cash, but can't be used to pay suppliers, rent, or employees.

    Profit growth does not necessarily mean more cash on hand. Profit is the amount of money you expect to make over a given period of time. Cash is what you must have on hand to keep your business running. Over time, a company's profits are of little value if they are not accompanied by positive net cash flow. You can't spend profit; you can only spend cash.

    Cash flow refers to the movement of cash into and out of a business. Watching the cash inflows and outflows is one of the most pressing management tasks for any business. The outflow of cash includes those checks you write each month to pay salaries, suppliers, and creditors. The inflow includes the cash you receive from customers, lenders, and investors.

    Positive Cash Flow
    If its cash inflow exceeds the outflow, a company has a positive cash flow. A positive cash flow is a good sign of financial health, but by no means the only one.

    Negative Cash Flow
    If its cash outflow exceeds the inflow, a company has a negative cash flow. Reasons for negative cash flow include too much or obsolete stock and poor collections on debtors (what your customers owe you). If the company can't borrow additional cash at this point, it may be in serious trouble.

    What are the Components of Cash Flow?
    A Cash Flow Statement shows the sources and uses of cash and is typically divided into three components:

    Operating Cash Flow
    Operating cash flow, often referred to as working capital, is the cash flow generated from internal operations. It comes from sales of the product or service of your business, and because it is generated internally, it is under your control.

    Investing Cash Flow
    Investing cash flow is generated internally from non-operating activities. This includes investments in plant and equipment or other fixed assets, nonrecurring gains or losses, or other sources and uses of cash outside of normal operations.

    Financing Cash Flow
    Financing cash flow is the cash to and from external sources, such as lenders, investors and shareholders. A new loan, the repayment of a loan, the issuance of stock, and the payment of dividend are some of the activities that would be included in this section of the cash flow statement.

    How Do I Practice Good Cash Flow Management?
    Good cash management is simple. It involves:

    • Knowing when, where, and how your cash needs will occur
    • Knowing the best sources for meeting additional cash needs
    • Being prepared to meet these needs when they occur, by keeping good relationships with bankers and other creditors

    The starting point for good cash flow management is developing a cash flow projection. Smart business owners know how to develop both short-term (weekly, monthly) cash flow projections to help them manage daily cash, and long-term (annual, 3-5 year) cash flow projections to help them develop the necessary capital strategy to meet their business needs. They also prepare and use historical cash flow statements to understand how they used money in the past.


    Learn To Project Cash Flow To Avoid Financial Trouble

    Sound financial management means knowing the firm’s cash flow, forecasting cash needs, planning to borrow at the appropriate time and substantiating the firm’s payback ability. Even a business with respectable sales volume is not protected against financial disaster, and it’s often due to poor financial planning.

    Too often small business owners feel that their knowledge of the line of business is sufficient to ensure their business is a success. However, it’s not good enough to figure that you have £15,000 in capital and a good idea for a business. You must figure cash flow over many months to construct a reasonable cash flow projection. One of the common failings of start-up companies is the lack of capital. Cash constantly flows into and out of a business. A certain amount of the owner’s investment is the business should help provide the liquid assets for cash flow.

    Without a floating supply of cash, almost every business will occasionally experience problems associated with the lack of liquid cash. A lack of cash to meet debts or maintain product supply can threaten a business. Bankruptcy can and does occur with otherwise profitable businesses, when there’s insufficient capital to carry the business through a cash crunch. If you don’t know how to develop a cash low plan, ask for help.

    As an entrepreneur, you want to minimise the risks and maximise your chances for business success. By seeking advice and assistance when it comes to financial planning, you are taking responsibility for the operational details that can make or break a business. Before you enter into contracts, have your legal advisor review the language to be sure that the contract works in your favour and that you understand how you are bound by the agreement. Consult with your accountant regarding financial and financial planning issues.


    Preparing Your Cash Flow Statement

    The cash flow statement is used to analyse the cash inflows and outflows (where the money went) during a designated time period. Recall from section on "cash management" that there are three major components of cash flow: operations, investing and financing.

    If you regularly do a monthly profit and loss statement, you will be aware that there are certain items which may not affect your profit and loss statement for some time, such as:

    • Substantial increase in stock purchases;
    • Increase in debtors (money owed to you by customers);
    • Reduction of credit by suppliers;
    • Purchase of equipment;
    • Unrecognised obsolescence of stock (stale items);
    • Bank's refusal to renew or extend loan; and
    • Lump sum payment of debt.

    A cash flow statement will highlight these activities in a way that an income statement will not. And certainly your banker will want to see a cash flow statement showing how you have used the funds from a previous loan before they approve an extension or a new one. Without the cash flow statement, you will have an incomplete picture of your business.

    Preparing the Cash Flow Statement
    In the lesson for preparing your annual cash flow projection, we detailed all the operating sources and uses of cash (cash revenues, purchases, salaries, rent, etc., etc.). This method may be easier when you are preparing a projection, and can also be used to prepare your actual cash flow statement at the end of the period. But you can also obtain the same result in an easier manner, which we will illustrate in this lesson.

    To determine operating cash flow, you start with net income and add back expenses which did not result in inflows or outflows of cash. The most common non-cash expense is depreciation. When working with historical figures, adjusting net income with depreciation and other non-cash expenses is much simpler than determining all the revenues and expenses which require or provide funds.

    Next, you identify all the balance sheet accounts that are associated with operations and determine the change in the account from the end of the last period to the end of the current period. What balance sheet accounts are we referring to?

    Operating cash flow will include all the balance sheet accounts that are a part of normal operations. Trade receivables and payables as well as accrued expenses, prepaid expenses and other current assets that are a part of day-to-day operations are included in operating cash flow as we'll show in the example.

    But what about the other balance sheet accounts - how do they fit in to this picture? The remaining balance sheet accounts will either be investing activities or financing activities. Once again, you determine the change in each balance sheet account from the beginning of the period to the end of the period, tally them up, and there you have it -- a complete picture of the cash flow for your company.


    Preparing a Breakeven Analysis.

    How can you tell if your business idea will be profitable? The honest answer is, you can't. But this uncertainty shouldn't keep you from researching the financial soundness of your idea. Preparing what's known as a "break-even analysis," or "break-even forecast," as well as several other financial projections, can help you determine whether or not your business will succeed.

    What a Break-Even Analysis Tells You
    A break-even analysis shows you the amount of revenue you'll need to bring in to cover your expenses, before you make even a dime of profit. If you can attain and surpass your break-even point -- that is, if you can easily bring in more than the amount of sales revenue you'll need to meet your expenses -- then your business stands a good chance of making money.

    Many experienced entrepreneurs use a break-even analysis as a primary screening tool for new business ventures. They won't write a complete business plan unless their break-even forecast shows that their projected sales revenue far exceeds their costs of doing business. The good news is that a break-even analysis is part of every business plan, so if you start by doing a break-even analysis now, you'll have already started work on your business plan.

    How to Prepare a Break-Even Analysis
    To perform a break-even analysis, you'll have to make educated guesses about your expenses and revenues. You should do some serious research -- including an analysis of your market -- to determine your projected sales volume and your anticipated expenses. Business plan books and software can teach you how to make reasonable revenue and cost estimates.

    You'll need to make the following estimates and calculations:

    Fixed costs.
    Fixed costs (sometimes called "overhead") don't vary much from month to month. They include rent, insurance, utilities, and other set expenses. It's also a good idea to throw a little extra, say 10%, into your break-even analysis to cover miscellaneous expenses that you can't predict.

    Sales revenue.
    This is the total income from sales activity that you bring into your business each month or year. To perform a valid break-even analysis, you must base your forecast on the volume of business you really expect -- not on how much you need to make a good profit.

    Average gross profit for each sale.
    Average gross profit is the money left from each sale after paying the direct costs of a sale. (Direct costs are what you pay to provide your product or service.) For example, if Paula pays an average of £100 for goods to make dresses that she sells for an average of £300, her average gross profit is £200.

    Average gross profit percentage.
    This percentage tells you how much of each pound of sales income is gross profit. To calculate your average gross profit percentage, divide your average gross profit figure by the average selling price. For example, if Paula makes an average gross profit of £200 on dresses that she sells for an average of £300, her gross profit percentage is 66.7% (£200 divided by £300).

    Calculating Your Break-Even Point
    Once you've calculated the numbers above, it's easy to figure out your break-even point. Simply divide your estimated annual fixed costs by your gross profit percentage to determine the amount of sales revenue you'll need to bring in just to break even. For example, if Paula's fixed costs are £6,000 per month, and her expected profit margin is 66.7%, her break-even point is £9,000 in sales revenue per month (£6,000 divided by .667). In other words, Paula must make £9,000 each month just to pay her fixed costs and her direct (production) costs. (Note that this number does not include any profit, or even a salary for Paula.)


    Financial Statements

    Understanding financial statements is critically important to the success of a small business.

    Financial statements can be used as a roadmap on your business journey to economic success. Using numbers as navigation aids can steer you in the right direction and help you avoid costly breakdowns. Most business owners don't realize that financial statements have a value that goes far beyond their use to prepare tax returns or loan applications.

    Review the following, easy to follow guide to help you better understand financial statements.


    Understanding Financial Statements

    The primary financial statements are represented in the balance sheet and income statement.

    BALANCE SHEET
    The balance sheet is a snapshot of the company's financial standing at an instant in time. The balance sheet shows the company's financial position, what it owns (assets) and what it owes (liabilities and net worth). The "bottom line" of a balance sheet must always balance (i.e. assets = liabilities + net worth). The individual elements of a balance sheet change from day to day and reflect the activities of the company. Analysing how the balance sheet changes over time will reveal important information about the company's business trends. By reviewing your balance sheet it is possible to discover how you can monitor your ability to collect revenues, how well you manage your stock, and even assess your ability to satisfy creditors and shareholders. Liabilities and net worth on the balance sheet represent the company's sources of funds. Liabilities and net worth are composed of creditors and investors who have provided cash or its equivalent to the company in the past. As a source of funds, they enable the company to continue in business or expand operations. If creditors and investors are unhappy and distrustful, the company's chances of survival are limited. Assets, on the other hand, represent the company's use of funds. The company uses cash or other funds provided by the creditor/investor to acquire assets. Assets include all the things of value that are owned or due to the business.

    Liabilities represent a company's obligations to creditors while net worth represents the owner's investment in the company. In reality, both creditors and owners are "investors" in the company with the only difference being the degree of nervousness and the timeframe in which they expect repayment.

    ASSETS
    As noted previously, anything of value that is owned or due to the business is included under the Asset section of the Balance Sheet. Assets are shown at net book or net realisable value, but appreciated values are not generally considered.

    Current Assets.
    Current assets are those which mature in less than one year. They are the sum of the following categories:

    Cash
    Debtors
    Stock
    Loans
    Prepaid Expenses
    Other Current Assets

    Cash is the only game in town.
    Cash pays bills and obligations. Stock, land, building, machinery and equipment do not pay obligations even though they can be sold for cash and then used to pay bills. If cash is inadequate or improperly managed the company may become insolvent and be forced into bankruptcy. Include all current , investment and short term savings accounts under Cash.

    Debtors
    Debtors are funds due from customers. They arise as a result of the process of selling stock or services on terms that allow delivery prior to the collection of cash. Stock is sold and shipped, an invoice is sent to the customer, and later cash is collected. The debt exists for the time period between the selling of the stock and the receipt of cash Debtors are proportional to sales. As sales rise, the investment you must make in debtors also rises.

    Stock.
    Stock consists of the goods and materials a company purchases to re-sell at a profit. In the process, sales and receivables are generated. The company purchases raw material inventory that is processed (aka work-in-progress) to be sold as finished goods. For a company that sells a product, stock is often the first use of cash. Purchasing stock to be sold at a profit is the first step in the profit making cycle (operating cycle) as illustrated previously. Selling stock does not bring cash back into the company -- it creates a receivable. Only after a time lag equal to the receivable's collection period will cash return to the company. Thus, it is very important that the level of inventory be well managed so that the business does not keep too much cash tied up in inventory as this will reduce profits. At the same time, a company must keep sufficient inventory on hand to prevent stockouts (having nothing to sell) because this too will erode profits and may result in the loss of customers.

    Loans
    Loans are debts due the company, in the form of a promissory note, arising because the company made a loan. Making loans is the business of banks, not of operating business, and particularly not the business of a small company with limited financial resources. Loans owed are probably a note due from one of three sources:

    7. Customers,
    8. Employee, or
    9. Directors of the company.

    Customer loan is when the customer who borrowed from the company probably borrowed because he could not meet the purchase terms. When the customer failed to pay the invoice according to the agreed upon payment terms. The customer's obligation may have been converted to a promissory note. Employee loans may be for legitimate reasons, such as a down payment on a rail card, but the company is neither a charity nor a bank. If the company wants to help the employee, it can co-sign on the loan advanced by a bank.

    A Director borrowing from the company is the worst form of loan. If a director takes money from the company, it should be declared as a dividend. If at the end of the financial year a Director has an overdrawn loan account with the company this has to be repaid within 9 months otherwise it incurrs tax charges. Treating it in any other way leads to possible manipulation of the company's stated net worth, and banks and other lending institutions frown greatly upon it.

    Other Current Assets.
    Other Current Assets consist of prepaid expenses and other miscellaneous and current assets.

    Fixed Assets.
    Fixed assets represent the use of cash to purchase physical assets whose life exceeds one year. They include assets such as:

    Land
    Building
    Machinery and Equipment
    Furniture and Fixtures
    Intangibles.

    Intangibles represent the use of cash to purchase assets with an undetermined life and they may never mature into cash. For most analysis purposes, intangibles are ignored as assets and are deducted from net worth because their value is difficult to determine. Intangibles consist of assets such as:

    Research and Development
    Patents
    Market Research
    Goodwill

    In several respects, intangibles are similar to prepaid expenses; the use of cash to purchase a benefit which will be expensed at a future date. Intangibles are recouped, like fixed assets, through incremental annual charges (amortisation) against income. Standard accounting procedures require most intangibles to be expensed as purchased and never capitalised (put on the balance sheet). An exception to this is purchased patents that may be amortised over the life of the patent.

    Other assets.
    Other assets consist of miscellaneous accounts such as deposits and long-term debtors. They are turned into cash when the asset is sold or when the debt is repaid. Total Assets represent the sum of all the assets owned by or due to the business.

    LIABILITIES and Net Worth

    Liabilities and Net Worth are sources of cash listed in descending order from the most nervous creditors and soonest to mature obligations (current liabilities), to the least nervous and never due obligations (net worth). There are two sources of funds: lender-investor and owner-investor. Lender- investor consist of trade suppliers, employees, tax authorities and financial institutions. Owner-investor consists of shareholders and principals who loan cash to the business. Both lender-investor and owner investors have invested cash or its equivalent into the company. The only difference between the investors is the maturity date of their obligations and the degree of their nervousness.

    Current Liabilities
    Current liabilities are those obligations that will mature and must be paid within 12 months. These are liabilities that can create a company's insolvency if cash is inadequate. A happy and satisfied set of creditors is a healthy and important source of credit for short term uses of cash (stock and debtors). An unhappy and dissatisfied set of current creditors can threaten the survival of the company. The best way to keep these creditors happy is to keep their obligations current.

    Current liabilities consist of the following obligation accounts:

    Creditors
    Accruals
    Bank Loans
    Other Loans

    Creditors
    Creditors are obligation due to trade suppliers who have provided stock or goods and services used in operating the business. Suppliers generally offer terms (just like you do for your customers), since the supplier's competition offers payment term. Whenever possible you should take advantage of payment terms as this will help keep your costs down.

    If the company is paying its suppliers in a timely fashion, days payable will not exceed the terms of payment.

    Accruals
    Accruals are obligations owed but not billed such as wages and taxes, or obligations accruing, but not yet due, such as interest on a loan. Accruals consist chiefly of wages, payroll taxes, interest payable and employee benefits accruals such as pension funds. As a labour related category, it should vary in accordance with payroll policy (i.e., if wages are paid weekly, the accrual category should seldom exceed one week's payroll and payroll taxes).

    Liabilities.
    Non-current liabilities are those obligations that will not become due and payable in the coming year. There are three types of non-current liabilities, only two of which are listed on the balance sheet:

    EQUITY

    Equity is represented by total assets minus total liabilities. Equity or Net Worth is the most patient and last to mature source of funds. It represents the owners' share in the financing of all the assets.

    PROFIT AND LOSS

    The profit & loss statement shows all income and expense accounts over a period of time. That is, it shows how profitable the business is. This financial statement shows what how much money the company will make after all expenses are accounted for. Remember that an income statement does not reveal hidden problems like insufficient cash flow problems. Income statements are read from top to bottom and represent earnings and expenses over a period of time.


    Forecasting for Growth

    To be effective as a leader, you must develop skills in strategic thinking. Strategic thinking is a process whereby you learn how to make your business vision a reality by developing your abilities in team work, problem solving, and critical thinking. It is also a tool to help you confront change, plan for and make transitions, and envision new possibilities and opportunities.

    Strategic thinking is like making a movie. Every movie has a context (or story) which it uses to get you to experience a certain outcome (an emotion, in this case) at the end of the movie. Strategic thinking is much the same in that it requires you to envision what you want your ideal outcome to be for your business and then works backwards by focusing on the story of HOW you will be able to reach your vision.

    As you develop a strategic vision for your business, there are five different criteria that you should focus on. These five criteria will help you define your ideal outcome. In addition, they will help you set up and develop the steps necessary to make your business vision a reality.

    The following is a list of the five criteria of the strategic thinking process:

    Organisation.
    The organization of your business involves the people you will have working for you, the organizational structure of your business, and the resources necessary to make it all work. What will your organization look like? What type of structure will support your vision? How will you combine people, resources, and structure together to achieve your ideal outcome?

    Observation.
    When you are looking down at the world from an airplane, you can see much more than when you are on the ground. Strategic thinking is much the same in that it allows you to see things from "higher up." By increasing your powers of observation, you will begin to become more aware of what motivates people, how to solve problems more effectively, and how to distinguish between alternatives.

    Views.
    Views are simply different ways of thinking about something. In strategic thinking, there are four viewpoints to take into consideration when forming your business strategy: the environmental view; the marketplace view; the project view; and the measurement view. Views can be used as tools to help you think about outcomes, identify critical elements and adjust your actions to achieve your ideal position.

    Driving Forces.
    What are the driving forces that will make your ideal outcome a reality? What is your company's vision and mission? Driving forces usually lay the foundation for what you want people to focus on in your business (i.e., what you will use to motivate others to perform). Examples of driving forces might include: individual and organizational incentives; empowerment and alignment; qualitative factors such as a defined vision, values, and goals; productive factors like a mission or function; quantitative factors such as results or experience; and others such as commitment, coherent action, effectiveness, productivity, and value.

    Ideal Position.
    After working through the first four phases of the strategic thinking process, you should be able to define your ideal position. Your ideal position outline should include: the conditions you have found to be necessary if your business is to be productive; the niche in the marketplace that your business will fill; any opportunities that may exist either currently or in the future for your business; the core competencies or skills required in your business; and the strategies and tactics you will use to pull it all together.

    By working through these five areas, you will begin to get a clearer picture of exactly how your business vision can be accomplished. As your vision becomes more focused, your ideas will appear stronger and more credible. Not only will it be easier to convince others that your idea is a good one, but it will also be easier to maintain your own conviction and motivation when you reach any pitfalls or obstacles in the road.

    Overall, you can apply strategic thinking skills to any area of your life. But by making a concerted effort to apply them specifically to your business venture, you will have a much better chance of bringing your vision to life. And isn't that what you want?

    In the pursuit of improved profitability you might be forgiven for thinking that any kind of growth is desirable, but in reality there are two types of growth - healthy growth and unhealthy growth.

    You can tell whether your growth is healthy or not by looking at your profit and loss statement or at your balance sheet.

    From your profit and loss statement, calculate the percentage growth of sales and the percentage growth of earnings. If sales are growing faster than earnings, this is a sign of unhealthy growth. The bigger the gap, the more unhealthy the growth.

    Alternatively, from your balance sheet, calculate the percentage growth of key asset categories - debtors, stock, and fixed assets such as equipment. If the percentage growth of these categories combined exceeds the percentage growth of sales, this is an indicator of unhealthy growth. Again, the bigger the gap, the more unhealthy the growth.

    The indicators of healthy long-term growth are:

  • The percentage growth in earnings is keeping up with or exceeding the percentage growth in sales
  • The combined percentage increase in the key asset categories is less than the percentage increase in sales
  • Growth in sales can look impressive but if it is not matched by a corresponding increase in profitability it can conceal underlying problems such as:

  • Inadequate cash flow
  • Unhealthy stock levels
  • Too many debtors
  • Sooner or later, these problems will surface as dissatisfied customers, demoralised employees, strained systems and controls, and stressed-out owners.

    If the root causes are not addressed, what started out simply as a problem of rate of growth can become a question of survival.


    Remaining Competitive

    Most businesses come into being because an entrepreneur has identified a niche in the marketplace - and in the early months or years there may be relatively little pressure from competitors. But your very presence in the marketplace invites competition, and before long you find yourself in a tightening market with competitors, large and small, snapping at your heels.

    How do you stay ahead of them?

    Market drivers
    Markets rarely afford you the opportunity to rest on your laurels. The key to remaining competitive is knowing the principal drivers in your marketplace and developing and positioning products and services accordingly.

    In essence, this means keeping one eye on your customers or clients and striving to delight them, and keeping the other eye on your competitors and striving to outshine them.

    Customer focus
    Successful businesses know their customers, understand their present needs, and successfully anticipate their future needs. Customers and clients are brought into active partnership with a goal of total customer satisfaction. Their level of satisfaction is constantly measured and their complaints and suggestions taken seriously.

    Leading edge businesses strive not to meet their customers' expectations, but to exceed them. At the very least, this means excelling on quality, delivery, and price, often in that order.

    But many businesses these days regard these as the minimum requirements for surviving in the marketplace. To gain a competitive edge you need to continuously introduce innovative products or services customised to meet specific customer or client needs.

    Innovation
    As your market niche becomes crowded with competitors it becomes harder to maintain your differentiation. When this happens you have to continuously reinvent your market niche through innovation:

  • Create a corporate culture that encourages and rewards innovation
  • Whenever you introduce a new product or service make sure your development team are already working on the next one
  • Keep one eye on new technologies, developments in legislation, etc. and learn to exploit them to gain a competitive edge
  • Constantly strive to improve speed to market
  • Do not reveal future developments to the marketplace any sooner than you need to - keep your competitors in the dark for as long as possible
  • To drive innovation, you need a constant stream of ideas:

  • Listen to your customers - their complaints as much as their suggestions
  • Talk to your suppliers about their future developments
  • Monitor your competitors' future plans
  • Encourage your employees, especially those in direct contact with customers or clients, to suggest innovations
  • Facilitate public visits to your premises and listen to the feedback
  • Visit other businesses, even those in different sectors, to encourage lateral thinking
  • Know your competitors
    One thing is certain - if you are successful in developing products or services that delight your customers or clients, competitors will appear like stars on a clear night. Therefore, the more successful you are, the more adept you will need to become at monitoring your competitors and anticipating their next moves.

    First make sure you know who your competitors are:

    Direct competitors - businesses that compete with you head to head

    Indirect competitors - for example, a nightclub that might tempt customers away from your restaurant

    Potential competitors - companies that might move into your market in the future

    Assign people to monitor them constantly, and gather as much information on their activities as possible.

    SWOT the competition
    A useful tool for staying ahead of your competitors is a SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats) analysis. First analyse your competitors' strengths and weaknesses in areas such as price, added value, customer service, location, management expertise, reputation, convenience, skills base, advertising, and marketing, and compare them with your own. Try to find ways to turn their weaknesses into your strengths.

    Then look at how well placed they are to respond to various threats and opportunities. These are usually factors outside their control such as developments in technology, changes in legislation, or new entrants into the marketplace. Look for ways to turn their threats into your opportunities.

    Never take your eye off the ball as far as your competitors are concerned - and never underestimate their potential to wrong foot you. Whether you are watching them or not, you can be sure they are watching you!


    Controlling Growth

    Growth is not, as many believe, the only criterion of success in business. Indeed, it is perfectly possible to remain a small business and still be successful.

    Equally, it is possible to experience growth in your business and to fail - or at least to be so beset with problems as to have little opportunity to enjoy the fruits of your 'success'.

    This is especially true if you take personal as well as business matters into consideration.

    Cash flow problems:
    Often for rapidly growing businesses a steep increase in sales leads not to more cash in hand, but to less. If this process remains unchecked eventually the reduced cash flow will undermine profitability and in extreme cases lead to insolvency and business failure.

    Increased borrowings:
    Cash flow problems can be further exacerbated if the growth requires extra short-term funding to pay for more office-space, extra computers, more stock, and so on.

    More people skills:
    As you start to take on more and more employees you will need to develop a whole range of people skills. You will have to learn how to hire and how to fire, how to motivate and how to delegate, how to reward and how to discipline - and you will need to find the time to do all this!

    More bureaucracy.
    As the business grows, so does the paperwork, compliance requirements, etc. You might need to invest even more of your scarce cash in bigger and better systems to deal with it - and find the time and expertise to master the new systems!

    No free time:
    Rapidly expanding businesses make great demands on your time, and you might find yourself working much longer hours than you want to.

    More stress:
    Add to all of this the problems associated with personnel issues, poorly paying customers, crashing computers, etc. and it all adds up to a lot more stress.

    When you weigh your personal ambitions and lifestyle objectives against the added challenges of expanding your business, you might decide that the old saying, 'Small is beautiful,' has more than a grain of truth in it!


    Business Health Check

    Experience shows that following times of growth, a subsequent reversal in fortune can result in widespread business failures. One way of helping to avoid this is to make sure that your business is running efficiently and has good cashflow management procedures in place.

    Unable to pay debts
    In simple terms, a business that is facing difficulties may be unable to meet all its liabilities or pay its debts when they are due. You may be on target to make a profit at the end of the year, but if you cannot pay your tax bill, your bank, or a major trade creditor on time you may be heading towards insolvency.

    Look for the signs
    According to research, most businesses that become insolvent do so because the management does not know what signs to look for in the early stages.

    Some of the signs of impending problems include:

  • You are taking longer than forty-five days to collect payments from debtors
  • You are extending lines of credit and worsening your exposure to key debtors
  • You have an increasing amount of work in progress that is not billed on time
  • Your bank balance is steadily reducing
  • You have overreached your overdraft facilities
  • You seem to have little control over costs
  • Long-standing suppliers are not keen to do business with you, or you are widening your range of suppliers simply to obtain more credit
  • Your stock levels are rising while sales remain static
  • Your business is largely reliant on one or two customers who are not paying as well as they used to
  • Your outstanding debtors or potential bad debts seem to have increased suddenly
  • You are involved in contract disputes
  • You are increasing borrowings just to keep the business running
  • You are more than a month behind in payments to HM Revenue & Customs
  • You are receiving final demands or writs
  • This list is by no means exhaustive, but it does give an idea of where to look for signs of impending trouble. You should constantly be on the look out for these signs - because your creditors certainly are!

    All is not lost
    If you detect any of the above signs, all is not necessarily lost - provided you take remedial action immediately. If you do not, and appear not to be in control of the situation, your creditors are likely to force the issue.

    These days, the emphasis is much more on attempting to rescue failing businesses rather than enforcing insolvency proceedings. This does not reflect a more charitable attitude on the part of creditors, rather the simple fact that they stand to reclaim more of their investment if the business is rescued rather than wound up.

    But rescue is not guaranteed. Whether or not a business can be rescued depends upon many factors - and the single most important is early action. The longer you leave the problem, the more difficult it will be to recover.

    We therefore recommend that if you detect just one of the signs mentioned above, you contact us immediately. We can then determine the seriousness of the situation and if necessary help you prepare and implement a turnaround strategy. This would include:

    Cash management
    To survive long term, you need to survive short term, and this means implementing an aggressive cash management programme to make sure you have enough cash to keep the business going.

    Recovery plan
    You will need to appoint a turnaround team who will help you prepare and implement a detailed recovery plan

    Confidence building
    If they are going to support you in your recovery efforts rather than pull the plug on you, your major stakeholders such as banks, suppliers, etc. need to be reassured that you have a viable plan and the necessary support to see it through.

    Prevention is the best cure
    Of course, the best scenario is to avoid a crisis in the first place, and the best way to do this is to introduce a financial management strategy:

  • Prepare and follow a business plan
  • Use professional management accounts to monitor your business
  • Prepare regular performance projections and cashflow forecasts
  • Regularly measure actual performance against the projections and forecasts
  • Monitor costs as closely as you monitor sales
  • Monitor debtors and creditors closely
  • These are all areas in which we can assist you. Why not contact us today to arrange a complete business health check?


    Fraud Prevention

    It is estimated that fraud costs UK businesses as much as £5 billion a year. Are you certain your business is not a victim?

    Two types of employee fraud
    Broadly speaking there are two types of employee fraud - fraudulent financial reporting and misappropriation of assets. The former is usually committed by senior officials or management and involves altering financial statements. The latter is far more widespread and can be committed at any level by any employee - and in many different ways.

    Here are some areas in which fraud commonly occurs:

    Personal and company cheques
    There are numerous fraudulent schemes involving personal or company cheques.

    For example, an employee writes a cheque payable to cash and posts the debit to an expense account. He or she then discards the cancelled cheque when it arrives with the bank statement and reconciles the statements by attributing the debit to an expense account, direct cost, or purchases account that is written off at the year-end.

    Another example might be an employee taking money from the petty cash and replacing it with a personal cheque. The cash box is always balanced, but the cheque is not deposited into the company bank account.

    To prevent these kinds of fraud:

  • Examine bank reconciliations thoroughly
  • Scrutinise bank statements and cancelled cheques for cheques made out to cash, employees, or unusual suppliers
  • Instruct the bank to send company statements to your home address for your attention
  • Credit control
    Those responsible for collecting debts and bringing in money can offer temptations.

    A typical scam is 'lapping'. Here an employee receives a payment from a customer and transfers the money directly into his or her own pocket. When a second customer makes a payment, the employee credits the first customer's account. This can potentially be repeated time and time again, making it very difficult to unravel the overlap.

    Other possibilities are an employee posting fictitious credit notes or other non-cash reductions to a customer's account and pocketing the cash, or altering the amount on a sales or work invoice and pocketing the difference.

    To prevent these kinds of fraud:

  • Verify credit notes and write-offs with receiving records and check for other documentation to support the transaction
  • Compare credit notes with previous ones processed by a suspected employee, especially if you are unfamiliar with the accounts of the customer
  • Stock and equipment
    Pilfering and theft are very common in most areas of business. Theft of stock and small tools by employees for personal use or resale can add up to large losses for your business.

    To prevent these kinds of fraud:

  • Make use of closed-circuit television, or even dummy cameras
  • Remove keys from unattended equipment and put alarms on major pieces of equipment
  • Light all storage areas
  • Limit the number of entrances to the site
  • Hire an external security company
  • Purchasing and payroll
    The department responsible for paying out money also offers opportunities for fraud.

    For example, an employee might invent a non-existent supplier and pay phoney invoices for an account that is basically his or her own. If questioned about the stock, he or she might claim that it is damaged, used up, or being stored off-site

    To prevent these kinds of fraud:

  • Check selected invoices for signs of doctoring
  • Check supplier invoices for unusual amounts, pricing, or volumes
  • Keep an eye on payroll cheques distribution and monitor unclaimed cheques
  • Preventing fraud with internal controls
    Effective internal controls can drastically reduce the risk of fraud in your business, but every control will have an administrative cost. You will need to evaluate the cost of additional procedures against the perceived risk of fraud.

    However there are some inexpensive measures that you can take immediately:

    Separate key duties.
    Having the same person in charge of more than one procedure such as placing orders, running credit checks, delivering goods, preparing invoices, recording transactions, or collecting debts is tantamount to inviting fraud. Wherever possible separate or rotate these duties among several employees.

    Require purchase or payment authorisation.
    Decide on a reasonable figure and ensure that single transactions above that amount require an authorisation, either from you or from a trusted senior employee.

    Compare actual to budgeted expenditure.
    The most frequent unauthorised transactions take place via expense accounts. By comparing your budget to the actual amounts being claimed by employees, you can identify discrepancies. These may be justifiable expenses, or they may be the telltale signs of inappropriate expenditure.

    All these measures will help you reduce the risk of fraud to your business. If you would like more detailed advice or guidance, please contact us to arrange a comprehensive review of anti-fraud procedures.


    Controlling Risk

  • Large amounts of cash in hand
  • Small stock with a high cash value
  • Easily convertible assets (eg. tools, vehicles)
  • Failure to clearly separate key duties
  • Employee awareness of future redundancies
  • Disgruntled employees with access to significant assets
  • Poor physical safeguards over cash and other assets
  • Untimely or poorly organised documentation for transactions
  • Lack of mandatory holidays for employees performing key control functions
  • Missing or unexplained documents
  • Inappropriate supervision, especially where employees are in remote locations

  • Suspecting Fraud

    Suppose you suspect that someone in your company is stealing or involved in fraud:

  • An employee is working unusually or unnecessarily late
  • The person in charge of purchasing is spending too much time with a supplier
  • A member of your sales staff claims to have lost the receipts for a large expenses bill
  • What should you do? - Innocent until proven guilty

    Remember, suspicion is not enough - you need proof before you can act.
    Behaviour that looks dishonest often turns out to be perfectly legitimate, so avoid jumping to conclusions or immediately confronting the suspect.

    Instead, consult your legal adviser. If necessary, he or she will recommend the forensic accountancy services, in which case contact us for advice on what to do next.

    Until you have proof of wrongdoing, exercise caution and carry on as usual. Keep any investigation discreet to avoid alerting the employee to the fact that they are under suspicion.

    Develop a response strategy
    It helps to have a clear policy for responding to cases of fraud or theft. In particular you need to answer the following questions:

  • Will you prosecute and/or take other disciplinary action in all cases, or will you decide on a case-by-case basis?
  • Will you deal with the matter publicly to convey the message that fraud and theft will not be tolerated or will you settle the matter privately to avoid publicity?
  • The most important thing is to be seen to be fair and even-handed, and of course to be acting within the relevant legal and regulatory frameworks.


    Goodwill

    If you were asked to list the most important assets of your business, what are the first things you would think of? Your staff? Your premises? Or perhaps your stock? One asset you should never overlook, or underestimate, is your goodwill.

    Goodwill is what brings you repeat orders and new business. Existing customers know your name and refer you to others. When you say, 'It has taken years to build up my business,' you probably mean, 'It has taken years to build up my goodwill.'

    Goodwill is generally embodied in a name, and it is vital for every business to protect their ability to use that name.

    Consider the consequences of having to change your business name. This might happen because another company, perhaps in another part of the country or a slightly different market, lays claim to that name, has a registration, and is able to stop you using it. Or perhaps another company starts trading under a name so similar to yours that customers are confused and you lose orders. And if the new company trades at the lower quality end of the market your reputation could suffer as a result.

    Protecting your name is crucial if you want to preserve your goodwill. The system allowing you to do this is Trademark Registration. Trademarks are not just logos or brand names like 'Virgin' and 'Coca Cola', but any 'sign' that indicates the source of goods or services, including a form of packaging or even a sound.

    Trademark rights are not merely the preserve of major corporations. A local bakery operating under the name 'Jackson's,' for example, can register that name as a trademark and it will be just as valid as Burger King or McDonald's. In the UK, about 500 trademarks are registered each week.

    Why register a trademark?
    Although your business has a common law right to stop someone stealing your name and 'passing off' their business as yours, this can be very difficult to prove and the legal actions involved are costly. It is far better to take preventative measures and register your trademark from the outset.

    Here are some of the benefits.

  • The Trademarks Registry will issue a certificate confirming your rights to the mark.
  • You will have the right to prevent others from using the same or similar mark on the same or similar goods or services.
  • The Courts recognise these rights and in the case of a legal action all you have to prove is that the competitor's mark is similar to yours and that he is operating in the same area.
  • Your trademark is entered on a Register that is routinely searched by companies looking for new names or products.
  • If your mark is on the Register, the searching company will adopt a different name and potential conflicts will be avoided.
  • A registered trademark is a useful asset with a monetary value.
  • Registered trademarks are regularly bought and sold, occasionally for substantial amounts of money.
  • What next?
    You can register your trademark in the UK, in Europe or in any country. A Trademark solicitor will help you to do this. You can contact a local solicitor through the Yellow Pages (itself a registered trade mark) or at www.itma.org.uk


    Outsourcing

    Outsourcing non-core 'housekeeping' activities will free up valuable time and allow you to focus on the core activities of growing your business, expanding your product or service lines, and providing the best possible service to your customers or clients.

    Here are some routine processes that might be outsourced:

    Accounts Outsourcing
    The rapid development of internet and web technology has enabled many accounting activities to be outsourced, and a physical presence is no longer necessary for many accounting activities.

    Furthermore, a recent survey undertaken by MORI for the Confederation of British Industry has confirmed that accounting outsourcing is on the increase.

    More than 50% of the study's respondents said that the pressure to outsource has increased over the past two years.

    There can be considerable benefits in accounts outsourcing, which include reducing costs and freeing up valuable time to concentrate on running your business.

    Payroll has been the traditional task to be outsourced. However, many companies, including major household names, are outsourcing large swathes of their accounting.

    Human resources
    It is possible to outsource your entire human resources department. There are specialist companies that will take over not only the payroll function, but also recruitment, training, and policy and procedural advice, as well as providing help with complying with the myriad government employment laws and regulations. In some cases, they can also provide fringe benefits such as insurance.

    Marketing
    Independent marketing firms have all the necessary expertise and materials for you to be able to outsource your entire marketing facility to them, thereby saving you the problem of creating your own internal infrastructure.
    Information systems

    Purchasing and maintaining information systems, hiring and evaluating IT staff, and training users can be time-consuming tasks that take your focus away from your core activities - and often require a level of knowledge and familiarity that you do not possess. By outsourcing your information systems administration to specialist firms you can be confident of obtaining the latest technology and suitably skilled personnel with less intrusion on your time.
    Delivery

    Depending on your products and situation, there are numerous options for outsourcing delivery. Couriers might be able to take on most of your delivery functions. Larger businesses might prefer to contract a major delivery firm rather than maintain their own fleet. Either way, you can hire the expertise to keep delivery problems and decisions off your desk.


    Benchmarking

    It is not only large businesses that need to apply benchmarking techniques.

    The expectations of the global consumer are such that businesses now have to compete on standards of service and price, regardless of their size.

    Research has indicated that many companies are missing out on significant profit opportunities by not implementing best practices.

    The Benchmark Index
    The Benchmark Index, created by the UK's Small Business Service, allows you to compare your business against over 2,000 benchmark results.

    Benchmarking can help to improve productivity and competitiveness, and can reveal new business opportunities.

    If you think your business has room for improvement in performance and profitability you might start by completing the free online 'healthcheck'.

    This will help you gauge the performance of your business in the areas of finance (including R&D and marketing expenditure, turnover, and loans), customer service, innovation and suppliers, and employees.

    Visit http://www.benchmarkindex.com for more details.


    Reducing Loan Repayment?

    If you have a business loan, a commercial mortgage, or a permanent overdraft facility with your bank, the chances are that you may be paying more than you need to in interest.

    Interest payments can be a substantial part of your outgoings, and so any way you can reduce them will help to improve your profitability.

    Given the right circumstances, almost any kind of loan can be renegotiated, and it is surprising how easy it can be to lower your interest bill in this way.

    Track record
    To be in a position to negotiate, however, you will need to have an established track record. Ideally you will have:

  • been trading for at least three years
  • a good profit history
  • a clean credit record
  • a healthy prognosis for the future
  • It also helps if yours is a 'conventional' business type with which the prospective lender is already familiar.

    Also, the more capital and security you can provide, the better the terms you will be able to negotiate.

    Leverage
    If you want to renegotiate a loan, you basically have two options:

  • Prepare a proposal for a new loan and take it to an alternative lending source
  • Use this option as leverage to negotiate a better deal with your present lending source
  • Whichever route you take, you will need to prepare your case and support it with reliable documentation. We would be happy to assist with this, and with the eventual negotiations.


    Getting Money From Late Payers

    Do you find that despite your best efforts to charge customers up front and to plan for the worst, bad debts still cause major problems for your business?

    Many business owners find that continual late payments - and the ability of large customers to decide to pay as and when they want to - can contribute to negative cash flow. We look at ways to improve your debt collections and, hopefully, to ease your cash flow difficulties.

    1. Choose the right customers
    Be selective about the organisations with which you intend to do business. This can be difficult if you are dependent on a few large customers or if your customer base is dwindling, but once your business has reached a manageable level of stability it is a good idea to research all prospective clients. You should:

  • obtain credit references on potential customers
  • avoid doing business with companies with poor credit ratings
  • ensure that the prospective customer knows your payment terms from the outset
  • 2. Implement a debt collection policy
    Establish a policy to ensure that you keep control of debt collection. Develop a set routine, such as the one outlined below. This will prevent the build-up of a pile of unsorted, unorganised bad debts.

    A typical debt collection policy

    If your terms state that payment must be received 30 days after invoicing, you should…

  • Invoice at the earliest opportunity, stating the payment terms clearly on the invoice
  • 15 days after invoicing, telephone the customer. Thank them for their business and ask if they are satisfied with your work or product
  • If no payment has been received after 31 days, send a reminder and call the customer to inform them that you are initiating collection efforts.
  • Telephone the customer every two or three days. Bad debtors rely on the negligence of their creditors. Continual calling will let them know you are aware of the debt and show them that you are willing to take action.
  • If there is a query or payment problem, arrange a new settlement date by telephone.
  • Confirm this date in writing and state clearly that if payment is not made by this date, the matter will be referred to either:
  • A debt collection agency
  • A firm of solicitors, or
  • The county court small claims department
  • If the debt is still due after this, keep your word and take action.
  • 3. Hire the right staff
    Involve all of your staff in the invoicing and collections procedure. An aggressive debt-collections manager, backed by a helpful support team is essential for a successful company. Ensure that your sales team and project managers are aware of late-paying customers to establish a widespread and knowledgeable defence against bad debtors.

    4. Rotate the debt collection staff
    If you have several employees responsible for collecting debts, it can be effective to rotate them for difficult customers. This disorientates bad debtors and reminds them that they are dealing not just with one person but an entire company. It will also allow your staff to become more knowledgeable and flexible.

    5. Make use of payment plans
    Payment plans become necessary when the customer cannot pay the entire amount due in one instalment. To avoid future misunderstanding, commit an agreed plan to paper and ensure that both parties sign the document. For help with structuring a suitable payment plan, contact us and we will be happy to help you.

    6. Pursue frequently late-paying customers
    Let customers know that you can no longer tolerate late payments. Sometimes the interests of customer service and debt collection can clash, but it is important to convey, politely but firmly, that bad debts are unacceptable. Explain to clients that although you will willingly discuss matters to the full, further delays in payment will not be tolerated.

    7. Use a debt collection agency
    If the worst comes to the worst, do not hesitate to use a debt collection agency to enforce payment. If a debt is more than 90 days late, hand it over to an agency. Not only will this let the customer know that you are serious about the late payment, but it will allow you to spend time more productively on those accounts which are less overdue.


    How to deal with Bad Debt

    What would you do if one of your major customers went under, owing you a substantial sum? Would you be able to recover the outstanding debt - or reclaim goods they had not paid for?

    Unfortunately, experience suggests that if you are an unsecured creditor you would be fortunate to recover a few pence in the pound - and in most cases you would receive nothing at all.

    Your best course of action is to take precautions now to limit your exposure and minimise the impact on your business of any customer insolvency.

    Basic precautions
    There are certain basic precautions every business should take. Though these are largely common sense, we are constantly surprised by how often they are overlooked:

  • Maintain an honest and open relationship with your customers and encourage them to share information with you
  • Establish clear credit control procedures, make sure your customers understand them, and be seen to implement them firmly and consistently
  • Check credit references before offering credit terms
  • Do not extend credit limits without good reason
  • Monitor customer accounts regularly
  • One of the first signs of difficulty is that a customer's payment period begins to lengthen. If this happens, you need to act swiftly. You might, for example, arrange a visit to them to discuss the matter. Ask if you can see their accounts and projections. If you are still concerned, you might suggest that they take smaller deliveries more frequently until the situation improves.
    Faster payment

    Another way to limit your exposure is to speed up the payment cycle. You might, for example, consider:

  • Restricting terms, say to 20 or even 15 days, and extending to 30 days only where there is a basis for confidence
  • Specifying terms as 'payment received' rather than 'payment sent'
  • Including a reminder of your terms on your invoice
  • Sending out a letter before the invoice is due asking for confirmation that the order was received - this pre-empts the 'I mislaid/don't remember receiving your invoice' excuse
  • Contractual precautions
    Other possible precautions include:

  • Include Retention of Title clauses in your contracts to increase your chances of repossessing any unused stocks of your products held by an insolvent customer
  • Where possible, obtain guarantees from directors or other group companies
  • Where substantial sums are involved, consider taking out insurance against a customer's failure to pay
  • Tread carefully
    If a customer does get in difficulty it is not always advisable to instigate proceedings too quickly lest you precipitate action by larger creditors who have a prior claim.

    In general, you have much more chance of recovering monies owed if a rescue plan is put into place rather than the company going into liquidation.

    We can help

    As you can see, this is a complex area and professional advice is essential if you are to avoid taking unnecessary risks.

    We can advise you on:

  • Establishing effective credit control procedures
  • Minimising the impact of customer insolvency
  • Dealing with insolvent customers

  • Invest to Grow

    Are you looking to start a business, or in need of capital to expand? We discuss here a number of options other than bank funding.

    External finance
    For most businesses, the principal source of funding has traditionally been in the form of overdrafts and fixed term loans, which account for about 50% of all external finance. The Bank of England has said that there is 'no real evidence of firms having difficulties accessing bank finance'.

    However, the need for some form of security can occasionally result in even the most well-presented request for funding, accompanied by an impressive business plan, being declined. And with over 40% of business funding being provided by hire purchase, leasing, trade finance, invoice financing, partners and shareholders, less than 10% is provided by venture capital sources.

    Debt finance
    Many lending institutions have developed 'credit scoring' techniques that assist them with small business funding applications. The determining criteria include credit history, past bank account management, the applicant's track record in business and willingness to invest their own money in the business, and evidence of repayment capability based on a business plan.

    If an individual does not have a previous track record and has little or no capital, the application will focus on the entrepreneur's ability and willingness to provide some form of security against the borrowing. One possible source of guarantee for finance is the Small Firms Loan Guarantee, which provides a guarantee of 75% for loans, from a minimum of £5,000 to a maximum of £250,000.

    Equity alternatives
    Equity finance accounts for about 8% of external finance for small and medium-sized businesses. Those companies that do attract this type of funding tend to be highly innovative and have a prospect of good growth.

    Over the past five years Venture Capitalists have invested about £33 billion in up to 7,000 unquoted companies, while some estimates indicate that 'informal' investors - such as friends, family or 'business angels' - invested as much as £12.8 billion in UK small businesses between 1999 and 2000.

    According to 97% of respondents to the Government's 'Bridging the Finance Gap' consultation, there remains a significant lack of equity finance available, but this is a source of funding that looks set to increase in the future.

    Business angels and informal investors
    There are reckoned to be 20,000 to 40,000 angel investors in the UK, putting between £500 million and £1 billion per annum into between 3,000 and 6,000 businesses.

    An InvestorPulse survey showed that in 2002, 75% of angel investors made investments of less than £50,000, with an overall average investment of £35,000.

    Enterprise capital funds
    The Government has announced its intention to launch a series of 'pathfinder' funds, based on the US-style 'Small Business Investment Company' (SBIC) model. These are to be known as 'Enterprise Capital Funds' (ECFs), and will involve the Government offering debt at a favourable rate of interest to privately owned and managed funds. An ECF would then be able to access private funds and offer these pooled funds to UK businesses.

    How we can help
    As accountants we have experience in working with clients and advising on available financing options, and lenders recognise the important role we play alongside businesses. If you see a need arising in your own business or know anyone else who would benefit from our expertise in raising finance, do please let us know.

    Raising finance - the essentials

    Choose the right financier

    1. Learn about the various sources of finance and select those best suited to your purpose. If in doubt, seek our help.
    2. Provide the financier with the right information
    3. Make sure that you fully understand the information that the bank (or other financier) requires. This often means much more than basic financial projections. A financier usually needs to gain an appreciation of the business, the quality and depth of management and the key people involved.
    4. Take professional advice
    5. It is best to use the services of a professional when preparing and presenting your proposal. We can help you prepare a solid, detailed business plan that will attract financial support, and perhaps identify potential financiers who will meet your needs.

    A well-prepared proposal presented to a carefully chosen lending source will have a greater chance of success. It is worth investing enough time, preparation and effort to get it right.


    The European Single Currency

    The economic and political debates over whether adopting the euro would be in Britain's best interest have abated. However, some commentators believe that the UK's eventual membership of the eurozone is inevitable.

    Whichever side you stand on, pro or anti-euro, you need to start thinking about what the practical implications for your business will be, should Britain decide to say goodbye to the pound sterling. Here are some of the issues you may need to consider:

    Your systems
    Financial and accounting systems, tills, vending machines, credit card machines and IT equipment will need to be able to deal with making and receiving payments in euros. If your systems are due for a periodical update, you may want to make sure that your software can deal with multi-currency transactions. Staff might need to be trained to deal with conversion rates and to recognise counterfeit currency.

    Company literature
    Company documentation, including sales literature, catalogues and invoicing documents will need to be brought up to date to reflect new markets and revised pricing systems.

    Your sales and marketing strategies
    The single currency allows customers to easily compare prices across the eurozone. You should explore the export opportunities offered by a hugely expanded market, and keep an eye on what your competitors are doing. If handled in good time, the changeover could be used as an opportunity to increase your market share.

    Customers and suppliers
    Customers will need to be informed about any new procedures. You should also liaise with your suppliers. With the euro they might make savings on imports: make sure they are passing these savings on to you. If they are not, consider shopping around.

    Tax and legal issues
    Considering the above measures now will help to stand you in good stead should 'not yet' become 'yes', but be sure to seek professional advice about any legal implications that may arise in the event of Britain joining the eurozone.

    We like to help your business look ahead. We would be pleased to advise you on any tax or financial implications. Be sure to call us when you need advice.


    Alternative Income Streams

    Your company pays corporation tax on its profits, but you are only taxed personally on what you draw out of the company as a salary, bonus, or by other means. The dividends you receive from your company are effectively tax-free in your hands, if your total income for the tax year is less than about £37,000. Once you reach that limit you may want to think about extracting profits in different, more tax-efficient ways. Here are some alternative approaches:

    Maximise allowances
    Make sure you are using any tax-free allowances available such as mileage paid for the business journeys you drive, paid at the approved rate. This mileage rate varies according to the number of miles driven in the tax year, and whether you drive your own car or a company car. A low emissions company car can still be a tax-efficient way of providing a smaller car for you or another member of your family.

    Keep it in the family
    If you have young children, your company can provide you with £2,600 of tax-free childcare vouchers per year. This is doubled if your spouse or partner also works for your company. When you pay your spouse between £82 and £94 per week (2005/06 rates), they may pay no national insurance or tax on that income (depending on their circumstances). However, a wage at this level will count toward their entitlement to a state retirement pension. The company should pay at least the minimum wage of £5.05 per hour, and keep a record of the work done to justify the cost on business grounds.

    Pay attention to pensions
    The company can pay very tax-efficient pension contributions into your own (or any employee's) personal pension scheme, or into a self-administered pension scheme. The new pension rules effective from 6 April 2006 increase the limit of the pension contributions you and your company can make. Care should be taken to ensure that the individual's total remuneration package, including the pension, is justifiable for the work performed.

    Property concerns
    If you own a property that the company uses for its business, perhaps land used as a car park, a lock-up garage, or even an office building, the company can pay you a market rent. This rent should be declared on your personal tax return and you will pay income tax under self-assessment. You can offset a range of costs connected with the property and there is no NI payable on rental income. When you come to sell that property it will qualify for a higher level of taper relief to reduce the capital gains tax due.

    There are other tax-efficient ways of extracting profit, such as short-term loans, or interest, which may be appropriate. Contact us for more advice.